“The current frontrunner for best new Sydney band of 2016” – Rolling Stone

“an immediate jolt of invigorated musicianship that perfectly encapsulates the hollow-yet-vibrant tonality of this generation’s post-punk.” – Weirdo Wasteland

“an invigorating aural assault.” – Edge Radio

“They are a new band from Sydney with a brand of post-punk that lurches more than your belly post-Saturday night, pre-Berocca. Plenty of snarl and plenty of growl.”Soundly Sounds

"Yeah they can sound derivative of bands like Iceage and The Horrors post punk days, with a little of local heroes Low Life thrown in the mix, but the pastiche is so artfully woven it morphs into something impressive."– Noisey

“DEN are about to unleash a debut EP that is about as close as it gets to the epicentre of chaos.” - Metratone


Enter DEN: A post-punk group formed in 2014 by Michael Grossman, Steven Hicks, Tomas Nunez and Michael Hassett.

Sydney's DEN have already made their mark with singles 'Poltergeist', 'Current Riser' and their latest single 'Inertia', taken from their debut self-titled EP out November 11.

Adopting a strict policy of DIY recording at Grossman’s Marrickville studio, they began to churn out new songs on a weekly basis. Within the same year they were playing shows and releasing music independently. The band released their debut S/T EP through Rice IS Nice and are currently working on a full length record.

'Poltergeist' was the first single to be taken from the EP, followed by 'Current Riser' which have both gained plays on BBC6 Music, Art Rocker Radio, KCRW, FBi, 3RRR, 2SER, PBS, Triple J.

Henry Rollins premiered the EP in it's entirety on his KCRW radio show on November 6. You can check it out here!

The DEN limited edition cassette includes B-sides of the EP only available on the cassette. Grab a copy via our store HERE or via our BANDCAMP.


1. Life In Chains
2. Poltergeist
3. Inter View
4. Inertia
5. Current Riser
6. In The Stare
7. Golden Sun (Cassette Exclusive)
8. Current Riser - Piano (Cassette Exclusive)
9. Current Riser - Electro (Cassette Exclusive)
10. Draw Them In (Cassette Exclusive)
11. No Gen / Rule (Live) (Cassette Exclusive)
12. Fall (Cassette Exclusive)

After releasing their debut tape through RICE IS NICE last year, DEN are back with a new lineup. Welcoming Greta Balog (Greta Now), DEN spent the first half of the year working on their first album, scheduled for release in early 2018. Written in a WWII bunker and recorded in Micky's Marrickville studio, DEN's new album is an exploration of black metal, post punk, hard-style and goth.  

DEN's debut EP ‘DEN’ is out now through Rice Is Nice.

Find DEN on: